The Final Push: The Long Run

The longest (and hardest) run of my marathon preparation was the 28km run I did a couple of weeks before the race.

It was crazy hot, compared to all the other weather that I’d been training in in Amboise and I’m fairly sure I finished dehydrated.

IMG_2225Half way through the run I decided that, instead of retracing my steps and going home, to run on to Tours – the big city about a 45 minute drive away from Amboise. All year I’d mused about running from my home to Tours and I figured that this day was my chance to do so.

About 3 hours after leaving home, I ended up on Stephanie’s doorstep (that’s her in the photo). I booked a train ticket back to Amboise and had a well-needed sit down before being wrapped in a blanket and making my way back to the train station.

 

Run Stats:

27.94km // 3h 34m 38s // 7’40″/km // 1865kcal

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

